T.J. Michael Claims FAST Opener at Waynesfield

Plano, Texas wheelman, T.J. Michael, pulled a repeat of 2019 claiming a FAST main event win at Waynesfield Raceway Park, this time claiming a nice $5,500 payday through generous contributions from race promoter Shane Helms, North Baltimore Custom Cuts, and former sprint car racer Larry Helms. A very nice crowd packed the enlarged seating area for a beautiful spring evening as 30 quality 410 winged sprint cars signed in to battle on the Auglaize County bullring.

The field was split into 3 heat races with drivers time trialing in pairs for 2 laps. Cole Duncan set overall quick time in heat race group 1 with a 11.094 second lap, T.J Michael paced group 2 with a 11.340 and Alberta, Canada's Skylar Gee quick timed heat 3 with a 11.371. Dan McCarron won NAPA of Fremont - heat race #1. Nate Dussell scored the win in Helms Construction Heat 2. Finally, The Cushion.com heat 3 was won by Thomas Meseraull. A scary incident in heat 3 saw Josh Turner take a tumble in an incident that also involved Skylar Gee on his side and Adam Crue.

The MSD Ignitions B-Main was scheduled for 15 cars, and taking 7 to the main event. When only 8 cars made the call to the track, FAST owner Aaron Fry and Waynesfield promoter Shane Helms quickly agreed to cancel the B and send all 8 into the $400 to start main event, much to the delight of the fans in the stands.

The 23 car field executed a perfect 4 wide salute to the crowd with Gary Taylor and T.J Michael on the front row for the 30 lap main event. Taylor, from Snohomish, Washington, grabbed the early lead but it was fourth starting Cole Duncan who set sail and quickly raced to the point. Michael ran third in the early going as traffic became a factor quickly. The field was green until mid race when Duncan, while leading, encountered a lapped car forcing him high and off the end of the race track.

With Duncan restarting from the tail, T.J. Michael and Gary Taylor were left to battle at the point. However, the night would take a scary turn just a lap from the finish when Dan McCarron spun in turn 3 and was struck hard by Cole Duncan, sending Duncan on a wild ride and also collecting Lee Jacobs, Nate Dussell and Kody Swanson who also wound up flipping the Jamie Miller owned 6. McCarron was taken to a Findlay hospital where he was treated for some facial injuries but was released hours later.

With a one lap shootout left, Michael was able to hit his marks one final time to claim the win over Taylor, a late charging Max Stambaugh, Brandon Wimmer and Thomas Meseraull who completed the top 5. Rounding out the top 10 were Tyler Gunn, Cale Conley, Ricky Peterson, Ryan Ruhl and Mitch Harble.

We'd like to also thank Wolf Composites of Columbus, Ohio for their contribution to the race purse! FAST returns to action this Saturday, April 3rd for $5,000 to win at Atomic Speedway! Please make plans to join us there.

Box Score

FAST on Dirt

Waynesfield Raceway Park

Saturday, March 27, 2021

NAPA Auto Parts - Heat #1: 1. 22M-Dan McCarron[2] ; 2. 22D-Cole Duncan[4] ; 3. 5M-Max Stambaugh[6] ; 4. A79-Brandon Wimmer[7] ; 5. 22L-Conner Leoffler[1] ; 6. 22B-Ryan Broughton[10] ; 7. 15-Mitch Harble[8] ; 8. 34-Luke Hall[3] ; 9. 24-Kobe Allison[9] ; 10. 19-R.J. Jacobs[5]

Helms & Sons Construction - Heat #2: 1. 1-Nate Dussell[2] ; 2. 8M-T.J. Michael[4] ; 3. 27W-Tyler Gunn[6] ; 4. 5-Jordan Harble[1] ; 5. 2-Ricky Peterson[8] ; 6. 49-Shawn Dancer[3] ; 7. 14-Chad Wilson[7] ; 8. 6-Kody Swanson[9] ; 9. 59-Bryan Nuckles[10] ; 10. 81-Lee Jacobs[5]

The Cushion.com - Heat #3: 1. 00-Thomas Meseraull[1] ; 2. 3c-Cale Conley[6] ; 3. 97-Gary Taylor[3] ; 4. 71H-Ryan Ruhl[5] ; 5. 37-Noah Dunlap[2] ; 6. 83-Adam Cruea[7] ; 7. 28-Skylar Gee[4] ; 8. 4T-Josh Turner[8] ; 9. 27-Cody Gallogly[DNS] ; 10. 35-Zach Hampton[DNS]

MPD Racing BOSS - A Main: 1. 8M-T.J. Michael[2] ; 2. 97-Gary Taylor[1] ; 3. 5M-Max Stambaugh[8] ; 4. A79-Brandon Wimmer[10] ; 5. 00-Thomas Meseraull[6] ; 6. 27W-Tyler Gunn[9] ; 7. 3c-Cale Conley[7] ; 8. 2-Ricky Peterson[14] ; 9. 71H-Ryan Ruhl[12] ; 10. 15-Mitch Harble[17] ; 11. 22M-Dan McCarron[3] ; 12. 22D-Cole Duncan[4] ; 13. 1-Nate Dussell[5] ; 14. 6-Kody Swanson[19] ; 15. 81-Lee Jacobs[23] ; 16. 5-Jordan Harble[11] ; 17. 14-Chad Wilson[18] ; 18. 37-Noah Dunlap[15] ; 19. 19-R.J. Jacobs[22] ; 20. 24-Kobe Allison[20] ; 21. 22L-Conner Leoffler[13] ; 22. 49-Shawn Dancer[16] ; 23. 59-Bryan Nuckles[21]

The Bridge Restaurant "Hard Charger": 81-Lee Jacobs

Kear's Speed Shop "Hard Luck": 22-Cole Duncan

All Star Performance "Sweet Move": 81-Lee Jacobs



October 2nd
Atomic Raceway

Oct 2nd   Atomic Raceway