Schuerenberg Claims FAST Freedom 40 at Atomic

A perfect summer evening and a large, enthusiastic crowd welcomed the Ti22 Performance FAST on Dirt winged 410 sprint cars for the Freedom 40 at Atomic Speedway on Saturday night. A strong field of 36 cars were on hand to battle for the $7,500 to win main event. Track promoter, Brad McCown, put up a $1,000 bonus bounty on 5 time and defending Freedom 40 champion, Cole Duncan. Duncan would come up one spot short to Sikeston, Missouri's Hunter Schuernberg who took the lead on lap 22 and led the remaining 18 laps to secure the win and the bounty money.

The evening began with time trials split into two segments. Cole Duncan set fast time in ARP Fasteners Flight 1 with a 11.570 over Shane Stewart, Travis Philo, Justin Peck and Jacob Hesson. Comp Cams Flight 2 was paced by Schuerenberg with an 11.721 followed by Kyle Larson, Brinton Marvel, Ricky Peterson, and Max Stambaugh. Heat races were won by Hesson, Chad Kemenah, Stambaugh and Larson.

The twin B-Main events were claimed by Keith Baxter and Jordan Harble.

The main event redraw included the 4 heat race winners and the fastest qualifier who transferred from each heat race. Shane Stewart would start from the pole with Chad Kemenah alongside. Kyle Larson and Ryan Meyers would launch from row 2 with Stambaugh and Schuerenberg in row 3. Cole Duncan and Jacob Hesson would start from the fourth row.

After a perfect 4 wide salute to the fans, the 22 car field roared to green. Kemenah shot straight to the lead showing the way early with Stewart, Larson, Schuerenberg and Meyers the top 5. By lap 5, Larson and Stewart were exchanging slide jobs for the runner-up spot as Cole Duncan was already to 5th. Larson took command of second and set sail for the leader, wrestling the lead from Kemenah on lap 9.

One lap later, the first incident of the race involved Keith Baxter who collected Tyler Gunn. Unfortunately, the lead cars were bearing down on them. Kemenah and Stewart were both collected. Kemenah was able to make repairs and tag the tail of the field for the restart. Two laps later, Todd Kane slowed with a flat tire. He was also able to rejoin the field. Back under green, Larson continued to show the way. The scariest incident of the night came on lap 14 when the red flag flew for Bryan Nuckles who flipped in turns 1 and 2 after the throttle hung on the 59 machine.

Once again, the field was on its way. At the halfway mark, Larson led, followed by Schuerenberg, Duncan, Kory Crabtree, Travis Philo, Meyers, Danny Smith, Brinton Marvel and Max Stambaugh. Looking well in command, Larson's luck ran out a lap later as he fell victim to an exploding tire, handing the lead over to Schuerenberg. Larson was able to change the tire and restart from 15th.

The stage was now set or an epic finish. Former USAC non wing specialist, Schuerenberg on the point. Defending champion Duncan restarting from 2nd. A local favorite, Kory Crabtree having a great run sitting 3rd. Former All Star champion Chad Kemenah working his way back through the field from a lap 10 incident and now a hard charging Kyle Larson restarting as the last car on the lead lap.

The high speed duel on the hallowed high banks of Atomic reached a fever pitch as Duncan closed the gap in traffic, but Hunter Schuerenberg proved to be up to the task. He won by 1.191 seconds over Duncan with Justin Peck charging from 11th to 3rd at the end. Kory Crabtree held on for 4th with Chad Kemenah roaring back to round out the top 5. Larson got back up to 6th passing 9 cars in the final 19 laps. Danny Smith, Brinton Marvel, Jake Hesson and Jordan Harble completed the top 10.

Box Score

Ti22 Performance FAST on Dirt

Saturday, July 11, 2020

Atomic Speedway

Freedom 40

Entries: 36

ARP Fasteners Group 1 Qualifying: 1. 22-Cole Duncan-11.570 2. 71-Shane Stewart-11.645 3. 5T-Travis Philo-11.835 4. 5x-Justin Peck-11.839 5. 5J-Jacob Hesson-11.862 6. 15K-Chad Kemenah-11.883 7. A79-Brandon Wimmer-11.919 8. 35-Ron Blai-12.002 9. 4x-Jimmy Stinson-12.067 10. 8M-T.J. Michael-12.090 11. 1B-Keith Baxter-12.322 12. 00H-Hunter Lynch-12.539 13. 5B-Chad Blonde-12.627 14. 22M-Dan McCarron-12.728 15. 40-Mark Imler-12.770 16. 001-Greg Mitchell-13.552 17. 9J-Jesse McCreary-21.742 18. D12-Mitch Harble-22.202

Comp Cams Group 2 Qualifying: 1. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg-11.721 2. 57-Kyle Larson-11.786 3. 21-Brinton Marvel-11.910 4. 2-Ricky Peterson-11.949 5. 97-Max Stambaugh-12.014 6. 99-Ryan Meyers-12.142 7. 60-Kory Crabtree-12.175 8. 59-Bryan Nuckles-12.196 9. 4-Danny Smith-12.248 10. 68G-Tyler Gunn-12.351 11. 4*-Tyler Street-12.364 12. 9G-Cody Gardner-12.457 13. 83x-Nate Reeser-12.527 14. 78-Todd Kane-12.627 15. 5H-Jordan Harble-12.673 16. 22-Josh Davis-12.727 17. 9-Lance Webb-13.082 18. 4xb-Bradley Ashford-13.615

NAPA of Fremont, OH - Heat Race #1 (8 laps/4 transfer): 1. 5J-Jacob Hesson[2] ; 2. 22-Cole Duncan[4] ; 3. 5T-Travis Philo[3] ; 4. 4x-Jimmy Stinson[5] ; 5. 1B-Keith Baxter[6] ; 6. 5B-Chad Blonde[7] ; 7. 40-Mark Imler[8] ; 8. 9J-Jesse McCreary[9] ; 9. A79-Brandon Wimmer[1]

Helms & Sons Construction of Findlay, OH - Heat Race #2 (8 laps/4 transfer): 1. 15K-Chad Kemenah[2] ; 2. 71-Shane Stewart[4] ; 3. 5x-Justin Peck[3] ; 4. 35-Ron Blair[1] ; 5. 22M-Dan McCarron[7] ; 6. D12-Micth Harble[9] ; 7. 001-Greg Mitchell[8] ; 8. 8M-T.J. Michael[5] ; 9. 00H-Hunter Lynch

Hawk Performance - Heat Race #3 (8 laps/4 transfer): 1. 97-Max Stambaugh[2] ; 2. 60-Kory Crabtree[1] ; 3. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg[4] ; 4. 21-Brinton Marvel[3] ; 5. 4-Danny Smith[5] ; 6. 4*-Tyler Street[6] ; 7. 5-Jordan Harble[8] ; 8. 83x-Nate Reeser[7] ; 9. 9-Lance Webb[9]

Hoosier Tire Midwest - Heat Race #4 (8 laps/4 transfer): 1. 57-Kyle Larson[4] ; 2. 99-Ryan Meyers[2] ; 3. 78-Todd Kane[7] ; 4. 59-Bryan Nuckles[1] ; 5. 2-Ricky Peterson[3] ; 6. 68G-Tyler Gunn[5] ; 7. 22D-Josh Davis[8] ; 8. 9G-Cody Gardner[6] ; 9. 4xb-Bradley Ashford[9]

MSD Ignitions - B Main #1 (10 laps/3 transfer): 1. 1B-Keith Baxter[1] ; 2. 5B-Chad Blonde[3] ; 3. 22M-Dan McCarron[2]

Kear's Speed Shop - B Main #2 (10 laps/3 transfer): 1. 5-Jordan Harble[5] ; 2. 4-Danny Smith[1] ; 3. 68G-Tyler Gunn[4]

Ti22 Performance - FAST / Freedom 40 - A Main (40 laps): 1. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg[6] ; 2. 22-Cole Duncan[7] ; 3. 5x-Justin Peck[11] ; 4. 60-Kory Crabtree[9] ; 5. 15K-Chad Kemenah[2] ; 6. 57-Kyle Larson[3] ; 7. 4-Danny Smith[20] ; 8. 21-Brinton Marvel[15] ; 9. 5J-Jacob Hesson[8] ; 10. 5-Jordan Harble[18] ; 11. 97-Max Stambaugh[5] ; 12. 35-Ron Blair[14] ; 13. 5B-Chad Blonde[19] ; 14. 22M-Dan McCarron[21] ; 15. 99-Ryan Meyers[4] ; 16. 5T-Travis Philo[10] ; 17. 78-Todd Kane[12] ; 18. 59-Bryan Nuckles[16] ; 19. 4x-Jimmy Stinson[13] ; 20. 71-Shane Stewart[1] ; 21. 1B-Keith Baxter[17] ; 22. 68G-Tyler Gunn[22]

The Bridge Restaurant of Sidney, OH - Hard Charger $50 Bonus: 4 - Danny Smith +13

MSD Ignitions - Hard Luck Award $50 Bonus: 8M - T.J. Michael

All Star Performance - Sweet Move Award $50 Certifictae: 5 - Jordan Harble



October 2nd
Atomic Raceway

Oct 2nd   Atomic Raceway