FAST Freedom 40 at Atomic This Saturday

The Ti22 Performance Inc, FAST on Dirt returns to action this Saturday night at Atomic Speedway for another installment of the historic "Freedom 40" presented by Kear's Speed Shop! Defending series champion (and track champion) Cole Duncan of Lockbourne, Ohio, will be seeking his 6th STRAIGHT victory in this Ohio sprint car classic. This year's event guarantees a minimum of $7,500 to win. However, a bounty has been placed on Duncan. If he CAN win his 6th straight, HE will pocket a $1,000 bonus, making it $8,500 to win. If someone can beat Duncan on the track in the main event, the winner will pocket the bonus and take home $8,500. Duncan must finish the race on the lead lap in order to collect.

The Freedom 40 began in 1990 when Atomic was known as K-C Raceway. Jack Hewitt went back to back, claiming both the 1990 and the 1991 race. Daryn Pittman is the only other repeat winner claiming 2001 and 2003 events. Other winners read like a who's who list: Joey Allen, Charlie Fisher, Randy Kinser, Kevin Huntley, Butch Schroeder, Kenny Jacobs, Kelly Kinser, Alvis Roepke, Chad Kemenah, Jason Meyers, Todd Kane, Randy Hannagan, and of course, the last 5 in a row by Duncan!

General admission for this event is $25 with seniors and veteran admitted for $22. Pit passes will be $38 while kids pit passes are just $20. Pit gates will open at 3 pm with general admission gates open at 4. For competing teams, we will be single car qualifying in heat race groups. If we have more than 30 cars, qualifying will be split into 2 flights, with heats one and two staggered from flight A and heats 3 and 4 staggered from flight B. Heat races will invert the fastest 4 with the heat race winner and the fastest car that TRANSFERS moving on to the redraw. Behind the redraw, the balance of the field will line up by heat race finishes with B-Main transfers tagged to the rear of the field.

Here is the full 40 lap main event payoff breakdown: 7500, 3000, 1500, 1200, 1000, 900, 800, 700, 600, 550, 540, 530, 520, 510, 500, 500, 500, 500, 500, 500. If the car count is over 30 cars, we will start 22 in the main event. If the car count is over 40, we will start 24!

Heat race payouts will be: 40, 30, 20, 10 sponsored by NAPA Auto Parts of Fremont, Ohio, Helms & Sons Excavating of Findlay, Ohio, Hawk Brakes and Hoosier Racing Tires. Bonus awards of $50 will be supplied by All Star Performance, The Bridge Restaurant of Sidney, Ohio and MSD Ignitions.

For more information on this event, be sure to visit



October 2nd
Atomic Raceway

Oct 2nd   Atomic Raceway