Dean Jacobs Repeats FAST Win at Wayne County

Despite a terrible weather forecast, Wayne County Speedway promoter, Jason Flory, pressed on last night and turned it into one of the best nights of racing for the historic Orrville clay oval. As the evening rolled along, skies continued to clear, and the Ti22 FAST on Dirt A-Main was pushing out at 8:30 pm under a beautiful setting sun.

The field of 18 sprint cars were drawn into 3 heat race groups. Lee Jacobs was fastest overall qualifier besting group 1 with a 14.845 clocking. R.J. Jacobs was second quick overall and bested group 2 with a 14.907 while T.J Michael was 3rd overall leading group 3 with a 14.921. The 3 heat races were won by Chris Myers, Dean Jacobs and Jordan Harble.

Plano, Texas native T.J Michael would redraw the pole position with Newark, Ohio's Jordan Harble scheduled to start outside front row for the 30 lap main event. T.J Michael raced straight into the lead and would pace the field through the first 13 laps before 6th starting Dean Jacobs aboard the McClure #9 was able to slip past.

On lap 16, the only red flag of the evening flew when Chris Myers from Caldwell, Ohio tangled with a lapped car and tumbled a few times on the front straight. Back under green, Dean Jacobs showed the way with Michael in the runner-up spot followed by Lee Jacobs, Mitch Harble and Tyler Gunn. The only caution of the event flew on lap 21 when Gunn had a left rear tire explode. Some quick pit work with the help of Mitch Harble (who scratched from the main) got Gunn back out before the restart.

The final 9 laps ran caution free with Dean Jacobs backing up his 2019 FAST Wayne County win beating Michael to the line by 1.827 seconds. Lee Jacobs, Jordan Harble and R.J. Jacobs rounded out the top 5. Completing the top 10 were Jamie Myers, Nick Patterson, Cody Gardner, Henry Malcuit and Tyler Gunn. Drivers praised the race track preparation as tire wear was almost nonexistent! The sprint car main event was complete just prior to 9 pm.

It was a popular win before a hometown crowd for Dean Jacobs and car owner Jerry McClure. Jacobs told the excited crowd "I don't care if I win $50, this place is home". Ironically, in addition to the $3,000 to win main event, Jacobs indeed was paid $50 courtesy of The Bridge Restaurant of Sidney, Ohio for being the "hard charger" of the main event from 6th to 1st.

Up next for the Ti22 FAST on Dirt winged 410 sprints is the Saturday, July 11th event at Atomic Speedway. The historic "Freedom 40" will pay $7,500 to win the main event! Watch for details on this event and watch for teams tuning up for it as Atomic will hold non sanctioned Wednesday night events for sprint cars on July 1st and July 8th paying very good money with just ONE support class. FAST will round out the month of July with a doubleheader weekend Friday, July 24th at The New Moler Raceway Park in Williamsburg, Ohio and Saturday, July 25th at Twin Cities Raceway Park in North Vernon, Indiana.

Box Score:

Saturday, June 27, 2020

Wayne County Speedway

Car count: 18

Qualifying - ARP Fasteners Group 1: 1. 81-Lee Jacobs 14.845 ; 2. 68G-Tyler Gunn 14.960 ; 3. 38K-Chris Myers 14.986 ; 4. 59-Bryan Nuckles 15.290 ; 5. D12-Jason Dolick 15.929 ; 6. 15-Mitch Harble (NT)

Qualifying - Comp Cams Group 2: 1. 18J-R.J. Jacobs 14.907 ; 2. 9-Dean Jacobs 15.012 ; 3. 70-Henry Malcuit 15.172 ; 4. 16-Danny Mumaw 15.820 ; 5. 14z-Wyatt Zimmerman 16.187 ; 6. 9G-Cody Gardner 16.559

Qualifying - MSD Ignitions Group 3: 1. 8M-T.J. Michael 14.921 ; 2. 23-Nick Patterson 15.566 ; 3. 5-Jordan Harble 15.727 ; 4. 1-Jamie Myers 16.717 ; 5. 22x-Ray Miller 16.807 ; 6. 7-Dylan Kingan (NT)

NAPA of Fremont - Heat 1: (8 Laps - All Transfer) 1. 38K-Chris Myers[2] ; 2. 81-Lee Jacobs[4] ; 3. 68G-Tyler Gunn[3] ; 4. 59-Bryan Nuckles[1] ; 5. D12-Jason Dolick[5] ; 6. 15-Mitch Harble[DNS]

Helms Construction of Findlay - Heat 2: (8 Laps - All Transfer) 1. 9-Dean Jacobs[3] ; 2. 18J-R.J. Jacobs[4] ; 3. 70-Henry Malcuit[2] ; 4. 9G-Cody Gardner[6] ; 5. 14z-Wyatt Zimmerman[5] ; 6. 16-Danny Mumaw[1]

Hoosier Race Tire - Heat 3: (8 Laps - All Transfer) 1. 5-Jordan Harble[2] ; 2. 8M-T.J. Michael[4] ; 3. 1-Jamie Myers[1] ; 4. 23-Nick Patterson[3] ; 5. 22x-Ray Miller[5] ; 6. 7-Dylan Kingan[DNS]

Ti22 Performance - FAST A-Main (30 Laps - $3,000 to win) 1. 9-Dean Jacobs[6] ; 2. 8M-T.J. Michael[1] ; 3. 81-Lee Jacobs[3] ; 4. 5-Jordan Harble[2] ; 5. 18J-R.J. Jacobs[5] ; 6. 1-Jamie Myers[9] ; 7. 23-Nick Patterson[12] ; 8. 9G-Cody Gardner[11] ; 9. 70-Henry Malcuit[8] ; 10. 68G-Tyler Gunn[7] ; 11. 59-Bryan Nuckles[10] ; 12. D12-Jason Dolick[13] ; 13. 14z-Wyatt Zimmerman[14] ; 14. 22x-Ray Miller[15] ; 15. 38K-Chris Myers[4] ; 16. 7-Dylan Kingan[16] ; 17. 16-Danny Mumaw[DNS] ; 18. 15-Mitch Harble[DNS]

The Bridge Restaurant "Hard Charger" $50 bonus: 9 - Dean Jacobs +5

Accu-Force Dynos & Testers "Hard Luck" $50 bonus: 68G - Tyler Gunn

All Star Performance "Sweet Move" $50 bonus: 15 - Mitch Harble



May 29th
Fremont Speedway

May 29th     Fremont Speedway
June 26th   Twin Cities Raceway
June 30th      Atomic Speedway
July 3rd       Waynesfield Raceway
July 30th          I-96 Speedway