Michael Wins "Ferkel Classic" at Waynesfield

Michael Wins "Ferkel Classic" at Waynesfield By Brian Liskai WAYNESFIELD, Ohio - They say you have to be in position to win. TJ Michael was and it led to the biggest win of his sprint car racing career Friday, Aug. 2 at Waynesfield Raceway Park on Tommy Tire Sales/Kear's Speed Shop Night. With three laps to go, leader Cale Conley was battling with Nate Dussel in lapped traffic when Stuart Brubaker spun, collecting Conley, Dussel and fourth place runner Cole Duncan. Michael, who ran third the entire race, took over the point and drove to the $5,000 NAPA Auto Parts FAST On Dirt pay day for the Second Annual Rick Ferkel Classic. "That one was given to me and there was no way I was going to lose that. I seen I was closing in on the front two a little bit but I didn't want to make a move too early and thank God I didn't because I would have been in that chaos. I've come up the last six years to race against great competition and they've really kicked my butt. I'm just starting to get comfortable in this 410 car and what a great place to win my first race. I have to thank Scott and Chris...they've been working hard all year long. Ever since Doug Berryman has gone and done his own deal with the shocks he really has us rolling," said Michael beside his Advanced Cast Stone/Fremont Fence/Kistler Engines/Big D's Pizza/Crown Battery/Pro-Tech Services/Soulfully Rooted Foundation/Wood Heating & Air Conditioning/Kear's Speed Shop backed #8M. Dussel and Michael brought the field to green for the 30-lap FAST feature but a spin by Peterson necessitated another start which ended up with Jordan Harble tumbling, collecting Dan McCarron. On the ensuing restart Dussel jumped into the lead over Michael, Conley, Lee Jacobs and Cole Duncan. Conley was able to steal second on lap two but Dussel had begun to pull away slightly. Michael continued to hound Conley as the leaders raced into lapped traffic by lap seven. Conley was able to use the lappers to drive into the lead on lap 11 by a nose at the start-finish line as Dussel raced to his outside and Michael to his inside. Conley finally cleared some of the traffic but he could not shake Dussel who stayed within a car length with Michael also staying close as Duncan, Jacobs, Travis Philo and DJ Foos gave chase. With 12 laps to go a tremendous three car battle involving Michael, Duncan and Jacobs was going on for third and Conley and Dussel ran nose to tail for the lead. Heavy lapped traffic once again came into play on lap 19 and again Dussel closed on Conley. With five laps to go it looked like it was going to be a real shoot-out between Conley and Dussel but disaster struck on lap 27 for the front duo. Michael took control on the restart and drove to the victory over a charging Foos, Henry (from 10th), Jacobs and Tyler Gunn. Waynesfield Raceway Park Rick Ferkel Classic Friday, Aug. 2, 2019 [*] indicates starting position NAPA Auto Parts / FAST 410 Sprints - Qualifying 1.16-DJ Foos, 10.361; 2.81-Lee Jacobs, 10.434; 3.11N-Buddy Kofoid, 10.445; 4.33W-Caleb Griffith, 10.596; 5.5T-Travis Philo, 10.647; 6.1-Nate Dussel, 10.649; 7.25R-Mitch Harble, 10.661; 8.28-Danny Mumaw, 10.680; 9.20I-Kelsey Ivy, 10.687; 10.9X-Ricky Peterson, 10.690; 11.22-Cole Duncan, 10.693; 12.4H-Cap Henry, 10.755; 13.4-Danny Smith, 10.759; 14.22M-Dan McCarron, 10.773; 15.6-Justin Grant, 10.792; 16.3C-Cale Conley, 10.820; 17.14-Chad Wilson, 10.830; 18.68G-Tyler Gunn, 10.836; 19.8M-TJ Michael, 10.840; 20.35-Stuart Brubaker, 10.847; 21.97-Max Stambaugh , 10.879; 22.20B-Cody Bova, 10.936; 23.45L-Brian Lay, 10.950; 24.5-Jordan Harble, 10.968; 25.60-Kory Crabtree, 11.043; 26.84-Cale Stinson, 11.076; 27.59-Bryan Nuckles, 11.082; 28.59J-Kirk Jeffries, 11.147; 29.40-Mark Imler, 11.297; 30.18J-RJ Jacobs, 11.529; 31.83-Adam Cruea, 11.615; 32.96AU-Bruce White, 11.620; Ohio Logistics - Heat 1, Group A - (8 Laps, top 4 to A) 1. 9X-Ricky Peterson[1] ; 2. 4H-Cap Henry[5] ; 3. 81-Lee Jacobs[4] ; 4. 20I-Kelsey Ivy[2] ; 5. 4-Danny Smith[6] ; 6. 14-Chad Wilson[7] ; 7. 59J-Kirk Jeffries[8] ; 8. 11N-Buddy Kofoid[3] NAPA Auto Parts - Heat 2, Group B - (8 Laps, top 4 to A) 1. 22-Cole Duncan[2] ; 2. 6-Justin Grant[1] ; 3. 28-Danny Mumaw[3] ; 4. 33W-Caleb Griffith[4] ; 5. 35-Stuart Brubaker[5] ; 6. 59-Bryan Nuckles[8] ; 7. 60-Kory Crabtree[7] Helms Construction - Heat 3, Group C - (8 Laps, top 4 to A) 1. 5T-Travis Philo[3] ; 2. 1-Nate Dussel[2] ; 3. 16-DJ Foos[4] ; 4. 45L-Brian Lay[6] ; 5. 96AU-Bruce White[8] ; 6. 40-Mark Imler[7] ; 7. 22M-Dan McCarron[5] ; 8. 25R-Mitch Harble[1] Kear's Speed Shop - Heat 4, Group D - (8 Laps, top 4 to A) 1. 8M-TJ Michael[2] ; 2. 3C-Cale Conley[4] ; 3. 68G-Tyler Gunn[3] ; 4. 20B-Cody Bova[1] ; 5. 83-Adam Cruea[8] ; 6. 5-Jordan Harble[5] ; 7. 18J-RJ Jacobs[7] ; 8. 84-Cale Stinson[6] B-Main 1 - (12 Laps, top 6 to A) 1. 35-Stuart Brubaker[2] ; 2. 4-Danny Smith[1] ; 3. 83-Adam Cruea[4] ; 4. 60-Kory Crabtree[10] ; 5. 5-Jordan Harble[8] ; 6. 22M-Dan McCarron[11] ; 7. 14-Chad Wilson[5] ; 8. 59-Bryan Nuckles[6] ; 9. 96AU-Bruce White[3] ; 10. 59J-Kirk Jeffries[9] ; 11. 40-Mark Imler[7] ; 12. 18J-RJ Jacobs[12] A-Main 1 - (30 Laps) 1. 8M-TJ Michael[2] ; 2. 16-DJ Foos[8] ; 3. 4H-Cap Henry[10] ; 4. 81-Lee Jacobs[5] ; 5. 68G-Tyler Gunn[12] ; 6. 5T-Travis Philo[7] ; 7. 9X-Ricky Peterson[9] ; 8. 6-Justin Grant[6] ; 9. 28-Danny Mumaw[11] ; 10. 22-Cole Duncan[4] ; 11. 33W-Caleb Griffith[14] ; 12. 45L-Brian Lay[15] ; 13. 20I-Kelsey Ivy[13] ; 14. 20B-Cody Bova[16] ; 15. 3C-Cale Conley[3] ; 16. 1-Nate Dussel[1] ; 17. 35-Stuart Brubaker[17] ; 18. 83-Adam Cruea[19] ; 19. 4-Danny Smith[18] ; 20. 22M-Dan McCarron[22] ; 21. 60-Kory Crabtree[20] ; 22. 5-Jordan Harble[21] The Bridge Restaurant "Hard Charger" - 4H-Cap Henry +7 Kear's Speed Shop "Hard Luck" - 3C-Cale Conley All Star Performance "Sweet Move" - 68G-Tyler Gunn 



Waynesfield Raceway

March 27th Waynesfield Raceway
April 3rd        Atomic Speedway
May 22nd   WV Motor Speedway
May 27th       Atomic Speedway
May 29th     Fremont Speedway

May 30th    Waynesfield Raceway
June 26th   Twin Cities Raceway
June 30th      Atomic Speedway
July 3rd       Waynesfield Raceway
July 30th          I-96 Speedway