Peck Scores Atomic FAST Win - On to Waynesfield Tomorrow

The NAPA Auto Parts - FAST on Dirt 410 winged sprints began the 2019 championship battle at Atomic Speedway Saturday night. Brad McCown had the 3/8 mile, high banked, clay oval in pristine condition and 27 FAST sprints signed in to do battle before a fantastic spring crowd. In the end, it would be Monrovia, Indiana's Justin Peck who claimed victory in the 25 lap main event.

The night began with Joey Saldana, Cole Duncan and Justin Peck each setting fast time in their respective groups. Heat race wins were claimed by Ricky Peterson, Ayrton Olsen, and Ronnie Blair. The 10 lap B-Main was won by Bryan Nuckles.

Joey Saldana would draw the pole for the 25 lap main event with Peck starting alongside. At the drop of the green flag, Saldana wasted no time bolting to the lead in the Jamie Miller owned #6. However, as the race wore on, Peck began to close on the leader. As they entered lapped traffic, Peck was able to slide under him off turn 4 to take command. The action was slowed for a lap 10 red flag when Ayrton Olsen got into the turn 4 wall and rolled over.

A few cautions would also slow the main event, but Peck seemed to have full command. Behind the lead pair, 8th starting Cole Duncan closed in through the middle stages setting up an exciting 3 car battle. With the laps winding down, Peck encountered heavy traffic allowing Saldana and Duncan to close up tight. The race's second red flag came with 23 laps in the books when Kory Crabtree got into the turn 3 wall and flipped. He climbed out unhurt.

A two lap shootout would decide the finishing order and Justin Peck, with a clear race track, checked out to leave no doubt on the race win. Behind him, Saldana held off Duncan, but Duncan made hard contact with the wall and miraculoulsy saved it, but lost some positions. Lee Jacobs, Brandon Wimmer and Ricky Peterson would all slip by to complete the top 5 after Peck and Saldana. Duncan was able to recover for 6th with Jack Sodeman, Trevor Baker, Ronnie Blair and Jake Hesson rounded out the top 10.

Sodeman won the Hard Charger award while Caleb Helms won the "Sweet Move" award. The hard luck award went to Cole Duncan. Complete summary results will be posted on Monday from both weekend events.

The FAST on Dirt series moves on to Waynesfield Raceway Park today for the first ever event under the direction of Shane Helms. Gates open at 1 pm with hot laps at 4 and racing at 5 pm. General admission is only $15. A stout field of cars are expected along with a full field of NRA 360 winged sprint cars.



October 2nd
Atomic Raceway

Oct 2nd   Atomic Raceway